Satan being Satan

“Some people are like seed along the path, where the word is sown.  As soon as they hear it, Satan comes and takes away the word that was sown in them.”  Mark 4:15

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Numbers 17-18 & Psalm 29 & Mark 4)

Satan is never a passive bystander.

God’s plan of salvation reaches people regularly.  They may read about it or hear about it in one way or another.  They receive it nonetheless.  Then Satan gets involved.  He convinces many of the hearers to reject the message.

Many people believe that God is up in heaven disconnected from what’s taking place on earth.  Many of these same folks imagine Satan being elsewhere.  They believe that they live their lives unhindered by outside forces.  All of these assumptions are incorrect.

God is omnipresent.  He is in everyone’s midst.  Satan is not omnipresent but his evil forces are alive on earth.  Adam sold out God’s control over earth when he sinned.  Satan’s control over earth is confirmed during Satan’s attempt to tempt Jesus when he said that he would turn the kingdoms of earth over to Jesus if He would worship him.

I must never minimize the powers of evil.  I must actively submit to God and then resist the Devil knowing that Scripture confirms that the Devil will flee under this arrangement.

I often find myself losing concentration when I am reading a Christian book or even when I am reading the Bible.  I now believe, based on today’s verse, that Satan has the capacity to take away potentially Godly things from me such as from reading.  Solution?  I need to constantly submit my life to God and resist the Devil.  I dare not chance wandering godlessly.

“Lord, I submit my life to You.  From within that submission I resist the Devil.  Protect me from waywardness.  Protect me from losing Godly concentration when I’m hearing/seeing/reading.  Enable me to absorb Your truths.  I want to rightly represent You in everything I do.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.