Doing what God wants

Doing what God wants

“Balaam answered Balak, ‘Did I not tell the messengers you sent me, ‘Even if Balak gave me all the silver and gold in his palace, I could not do anything of my own accord, good or bad, to go beyond the command of the Lord – and I must say only what the Lord says?’” Numbers 24:12-13

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Numbers 24-27 & 1 Corinthians 13)

Balaam gets it right.

Recall yesterday that Balaam needed help from his ride to get his priorities straight. Now in the presence of a very frustrated Balak, he sticks to his intention of doing only what God wants him to do.

For me this is a great example of someone getting it right spiritually and then sticking to that rightness despite being pressured to do otherwise.

I like the line by Balak at the end where he tells Balaam that he had planned to reward him heavily but that God had prevented it.

I must be willing to do God’s will in every situation. I cannot let the consequences factor into my Godliness.

It is essential that I pursue His will without ceasing. I must never assume that I have the capacity to get anything right on my own. I need Him 24/7.

Notice also in these verses that Balaam not only wants to be in step with God so that he won’t do bad things but also so he won’t run ahead of God’s commands doing what he (Balaam) might consider good. Good things done away from God’s will are folly.

“Lord, I cannot detach myself from You. There is no time of independent activity that pleases You. Forgive me for ever thinking I have an agenda that is better than Yours is. I know I don’t! I love You, Fa

Leave a comment

Filed under Numbers

Comments are closed.