“If I can?”

“But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.” “’If you can?’” said Jesus. “’Everything is possible for one who believes.’” Mark 9:22-23

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Numbers 30-31 & Mark 9)

A man and his demon-possessed son are let down by Jesus’ disciples. The disciples can’t do anything about the son’s condition.

Jesus walked into this situation and hears the man give his report about the disciples’ failure.

The man asks Jesus if there’s anything He can do.

Jesus repeats the man’s “if you can” line and goes on to say that all things are within God’s power.
How easy it is to limit God. We look at situations through our own capabilities and those of the best people around us. If we don’t see capability there, we surmise that nothing can be done.

BUT GOD. There is nothing He can’t do. Will we get what we want if we believe He can do something? Not necessarily. However, God’s way is the best for us. We trust that fact and leave the heavy lifting to Him.

“Lord, forgive me for underestimating You. You are not intimidated or inundated or ever over-rated. You can do anything. Help me to get that “anything” part ingrained in my head and stop limiting You. I can call on You with confidence. I know that You know what needs to be done in all the situations I face and can deliver what is needed. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.