The fear of God

“This very day I will begin to put terror and fear of you on all the nations under heaven. They will hear reports of you and will tremble and be in anguish because of you.” Deuteronomy 2:25

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 1-2 & Mark 12)

This is more of God being God.

The enemies of the Israelites were going to be afraid of them because of reports they heard. God was going to see to it.

The Israelites were on their way to the Promised Land. There were people already in the land who were armed and dangerous. But that wouldn’t matter. The current inhabitants were going to be made afraid of the Israelites by God.

God is amazing. His magnificence is beyond any measuring I will ever be able to do. Obstacles to His will stand no chance. The Israelites had been promised land by God and it would surely come to pass.

How easy for me to be overwhelmed by life’s obstacles. “What am I going to do?” I think. How godless of me to even think that way. In Him I have direction and comfort to face any and all situations. Will I trust Him?

“Lord, You are my God. Forgive me for going life without You. I need Your saturation. I want to rightly represent You in all circumstances. Prick my conscience when I stray from You. Thank You for stories in the Bible of You being You. I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.