Don’t forget what He’s done

“Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.” Deuteronomy 4:9

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 3-4 & Psalm 36 & Mark 13)

There is a lot going on in our lives. Easy to get our mind so crammed with things that we forget to take time to see where we are and how we got there.

Moses is not going on to the Promised Land so as the Israelites get ready to move in there he wants them to remember where they have come from. In that remembrance they will recall how God has miraculously led them.

Moses also insists that the stories of their past should be presented to their children and their grandchildren.

I have a decent recall of many of the stories from the Bible and in them I have become acquainted with God in action. I wonder, however, if I take the same God-seeking interest in my own past? Will I credit God for turning points in my life, in fact, do I even realize that He was guiding me?

In a large part of my life I have known God indirectly. In those times “things” happened but I did not have the Godly eyes to see them for what they really were. I believe that the prayers of family/friends were influencing the paths I chose even though I didn’t even realize it. God was leading me via the prayers of righteous folks.

In more recent years my relationship with God has been more direct. I know that He is running things. I am much quicker to see His Hand in what happens. I need to spend time identifying God’s Hand in all of my life. In doing that I can better understand that my ways are not His Ways. Some things looked bad at the time but they may have led to better things that I had no sense of at the time.

I must recognize that I have always been the clay and He has always been the potter. He has always been the one shaping me and I need to be mindful of His “shapings” and thankful for them.

“Lord, You have always been. Forgive me for forgetting Your past and current greatness. Every good thing I have is a gift from You and there have been plenty of those gifts. Help me to overflow with a love for You. May those who mingle with me sense that they are mingling with someone who loves You. Fill me with You, I beg!”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.