Your will

“Abba, Father,” he said, “everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.” Mark 14:36

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 5-6 & Psalm 43 & Mark 14)

Jesus is the role model in this verse.

Jesus can see where things are going. He will be separated from His Father as He dies for all the sins of the world. He wonders if there might be some other way. The silence He gets in response assures Jesus that He will be crucified and die for our sins. Jesus accepts His Father’s will.

It is easy for me to orchestrate how God will deal with things in my life. Often, God’s way is different from my way. I must be willing to accept that.

This verse reminded me of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego’s response to Nebuchadnezzar. They told him that that they knew that God could rescue them but then they went on, “but even if,” and explained that they would still do what God wanted no matter what happened.

God is in charge. He is omnipotent. He knows what is best for me. Will I trust Him with that in mind?

“Lord, You are my God. There is no other. Your ways are the ways I want. Guide me into them, I beg. Forgive me for rooting myself into ways I want to go without aligning myself to You. Open and close doors so that I will do Your will. I love You, Father”

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.