Remember God

“You may say to yourself, “’My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.’” But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth.” Deuteronomy 8:17-18

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 7-9 & Mark 15)

The Israelites were about to cross the Jordan River and enter the Promised Land. There were plenty of good things for them already in place.

Moses, in today’s chosen verses, reminds the Israelites that they must not credit themselves for the wealth that will be coming their ways. God is the one responsible.

How easy it is to credit ourselves for things we have no business crediting ourselves for. I see it so often in sports. A receiver makes a touchdown catch and attempts to gain all the accolades. I am not a football expert but I know that play calling, blocking, and accurate passing had plenty to do with that receiver’s catch. And if that receiver was Godly He would have been quick to thank Him for his good reception.

I need to be quick to credit God. Any ability I have is rooted in Him. He put me in a position. He sent help to me. He helped me understand. The “He” things are endless. Who am I that I should boast!

“Lord, You are my God. You have given me every good gift I had, have, and will have. Help me to shamelessly credit You for what I have. There is no one like You. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.