We can’t work it out!

“I do not set aside the grace of God for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!” Galatians 2:21

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 16-18 & Psalm 38 & Galatians 2)

This is a juncture: Those who think one way on one side and those who don’t on the other.

With Easter coming, it is certainly important to decide if there was a reason Jesus died. If it wasn’t for something then it was tragic. Someone in the prime of life cut down.

The conflict that surrounds the chosen verse relates to how a person qualifies for an after-life with God. Can I earn the right or has it been made my right?

Many folks are intent on being good, keeping the rules. Why? God will notice and they will end up on life’s balancing scale as more good than bad. God will reward their goodness with an eternal after-life with Him.

The chosen verse completely disputes the thinking in the previous paragraph. The eternal after-life is not earned, it is a gift. It’s an “already done” thing.

When Jesus died He died for the sins of the world; past, present, and future. If I want an eternal after-life, I must recognize that I am a sinner and believe that Jesus died once and for all for my sins. The heavy lifting is not done by me but by Him.

Why do you think Jesus died? Nowhere in the Bible does being good get you to heaven. Jesus in fact mocks people who consider themselves good. Why? Because He knows that they aren’t good enough. They’re sinners like everyone else. They need another way to get to an eternal after-life and He (Jesus) will provide the way by dying for their sins. He’ll take on Himself the penalty their sins earned.

Recognizing your sinfulness and accepting the purpose of Jesus’ death (Dying for your sins) will make Jesus your Savior. He will have saved you from the consequences your sins deserve, an eternal after-life separated from God. This is a right-or-wrong situation. There are no special cases or do-overs. You must get this one right. Do it!

“Lord, open hearts/minds I beg. Reveal the folly of trusting good deeds to elevate them to a final place with You. That route will lead to eternal separation from You. I love You, Lord. I thank You for dying for sinful me. I needed You to die for my sins and I thank You that God sent You to earth to die for my sins. I believe in You. Hallelujah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Galatians

Comments are closed.