Get rid of evil in your life

“You must purge evil from among you.” Deuteronomy 19:19

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 19-21 & Galatians 3)

If you swim in muck you’ll soon be covered with it!

God was giving Moses insights into how the Israelites should live in the Promised Land including today’s chosen verse.

The Israelites would need to be able to recognize evil to get this directive done.

The thought of being “tolerant” of sin was not an option. It must be eliminated.

This verse is easy to apply to my life. I must recognize/avoid evil.

My television is equipped with a remote. I have the instant option of changing the channel. I even have an off/on button if that becomes necessary. If something I am watching turns evil I can do something about it and must.

In order to rightly represent God I must be tightly connected to Him. If this tightness is going on I will be much more alert to things that are trying to take me into sin or have taken me into sin. I will want to quickly correct the situation. It may be as simple as getting away from something. It may involve an apology. Whatever it is it needs to be acted on immediately. Delay often leads to indirect tolerance of something that is wrong. This is part of the pathway to acceptance.

“Lord, I want to be clean before You. Wash me of sin. Prick my conscience when I’m in it or heading into it. I want to rightly represent You wherever I am this day. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.