Sin loses its grip

“Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.” Galatians 5:24

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 25-27 & Galatians 5)

The possibility of sinning never goes away.

Believers, however, recognizes their sinfulness for what it is……rejection of God’s Way. Believers, therefore identify themselves as sinful and realize that this sinfulness of theirs will prevent them from spending their after-life with God.

BUT GOD sent Jesus to die for our sins and He did it. If I believe that I am a sinner and that Jesus took care of my sin problem I am saved from the consequences of my sinfulness which is eternal separation from God.

Will I stop being a sinner when I become a believer? I can absolutely assure you, “No!”

There is a difference within the true believer. The true believer does not want to sin anymore. They love God for providing an escape from their sin problem and want to do what He wants. Sin will still happen but the believer feels badly because all sin is ultimately disobeying the God they claim to love.

It is crucial that I live my life in tight relationship to God. The closer I am to Him the less likely I am to sin.

I also am adamant that God would prick my conscience when I have done, or am doing, something displeasing to Him. That awareness gives me opportunity to repent and restore my relationship to Him.

“Lord, I love You. Thank You for taking care of my sin problem for good. I love You for doing that and want to please You in everything I do from here on in. Help me to be mindful of You. Help me to be mindful of Your Ways. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Galatians

Comments are closed.