Boasting about what Jesus did

“May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” Galatians 6:14

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 28-29 & Galatians 6)

I cannot boast of having had any part in my salvation.

When I begin to take on pride I am heading into the boasting miscue. The good that I do has no direct bearing on getting an after-life with God. The good that I do is done in response to God’s love for me. It is not an action but a reaction. It is not done for gain but totally out of love for Another.

I believe that Jesus died for my heaven-separating sins. I believe that my connection to Him severs my connection to the world. My need for the world’s approval is gone. I have been accepted by God. My future is with Him. I am in the world but not controlled by it.

I am in the world to rightly represent Him wherever I am. The attractions of the world are no longer as attractive as they were before I gave my life to God.

I must be certain that nothing in the world becomes a counterfeit god.   It can’t be work, family, hobby, etc… I am still involved in those areas but my boasting must be about what God has done for me.

“Lord, too often I have entertained counterfeit gods. Their places have been elevated beyond their worth. Forgive me. You are my One and only God. I worship only You. You have assured me of an after-life with You. Every other attraction is sinking sand unless I lessen its hold on me. Evaluate my life, Father. Enable me to ferret out any counterfeit gods and counterfeit gods in the making. I want to serve only You. Help me, Father I beg!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Galatians

Comments are closed.