Seeing the big picture

“There the Lord showed him the whole land….” Deuteronomy 34:1

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Deuteronomy 32-34 & 1 Corinthians 2)

Moses got a look at the Promised Land before he died.

I know that the size of the Promised Land was not too large but I suspect that God had to give Moses special vision to see as much as he did.

How easy it is to limit my vision to the immediate. By doing that I forget the past and lack a vision for the future.

God has always been with me. Like Nathanael, He “saw me under the fig tree.” He knows what I’ve been doing. He knows where I’ve been.

God is in charge of my future….if I’ll let Him be. He knows what is best for me. I could not surrender my future into better hands.

Seeing the big picture involves keeping the God of my past in mind. I must also be certain to be on board with Him for the road ahead. Minimizing either of those concepts is a mistake.

“Lord, open my eyes to You. My big picture must include You. You have loved me and will continue to love me. Prick my conscience when I betray Your love. I want my life to be in right relationship with You. Fill me with You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.