They had already heard

“We have heard how the Lord dried up the water of the Red Sea for you when you came out of Egypt…..” Joshua 2:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Joshua 1-2 & Psalm 37 & 1 Corinthians 3)

When the two Israelite spies stayed with Rahab in Jericho they learned that much was already known there about God.

Rahab had not only heard about God but was convinced that the Israelites God was the one and only God.

Rahab knew what God could do and understood that when the Israelites crossed the Jordan River the city she lived in, Jericho, would be captured and its inhabitants destroyed. She made arrangements with the two spies in order that she and her family would be spared when the conquest of Jericho took place.

A takeaway for me is that I am constantly being watched. People are drawing conclusions about me from any number of observation points. It could be my driving. It could be my interactions with my wife at Market Basket.

My life must always rightly represent the God I love. There are no stage productions. Every interaction is in play.

To attempt to orchestrate my Godliness is folly. There are no off-stage moments for the believer.

This all means that there are going to be regular mess-ups. Mess-ups require clean-ups. “Forgive me……”

I want every part of my life to please God. I know that I fail miserably at it. Therefore, I need to constantly expose myself to God’s Light and then seek His cleansing so that I can function in the midst of others as one of His.

“Lord, my representation of You is very low quality. I surrender to You. Pick me up and restore me to You so that I will rightly represent You in the midst that You have me this day. May my love for You pour over those closest to me. May there not be a doubt that I love You and them. Help me, I beg!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.