Dry land

“The Lord your God did to the Jordan what he had done to the Red Sea when he dried it up before us until we had crossed over.” Joshua 4:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Joshua 3-6 & 1 Corinthians 4)

Water is no obstacle to God. For that matter, nothing is an obstacle to God!

Joshua connects the two water stories for the Israelites after they have just crossed the Jordan River.

One remarkable piece of this story, and the Red Sea story as well, is the fact that the land that had been under water was dry in both cases when the Israelites crossed it. Obviously God was being God when the Red Sea and the flood stage Jordan River were held back but the instant land dry out within the river was yet another example of God being God.

How easy it is to lessen the majesty of God. Trouble appears and I turn fearful. Why? Because I am trusting me instead of Him. I will always be weak but He will never be weak.

My life must be tightly aligned to Him. I cannot ever try to go it alone. It never has worked and it never will work.

“Lord, thank You for the wonderful story of the Israelites crossing the flood stage Jordan River on dry land. Simply amazing but not surprising. You are great. I thank You for getting me successfully through a test today. I am unworthy of any blessings from You yet You continue to shower them on me. Thank You, Father!”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.