God works on the heart

“For it was the Lord himself who hardened their hearts to wage war against Israel, so that he might destroy them totally, exterminating them without mercy, as the Lord had commanded Moses.” Joshua 11:20

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Joshua 9-11 & 1 Corinthians 6)

Deals were struck with the Israelites that spared some inhabitants of the Promised Land from extinction. Others in the Promised Land persisted in wanting to take on the Israelites. Why? God hardened their hearts.

You have to wonder about these persistent folks. They all knew what God had done. The Red Sea and the Jordan River weren’t waterways they were unfamiliar with. Certainly the unusual fall of Jericho was common knowledge. But minus the conscience of God they plunged ahead and ultimately into extinction.

Minus God in my life I am flirting with disaster. The distance between where I am and the “cliff” is a short one. There are so many stories of Godly people suddenly falling apart completely spiritually. I know that every time I get loose from God I risk the same thing.

“Father, I fear separation from You. The people in today’s verse had no fear of You because they had no attachment to You. You let them go down the disastrous road that was their own choosing apart from You. Prick my conscience when I am loose from You so that I can immediately switch into corrective action. I don’t ever want to be apart from You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.