Lighten up

“’Now then,’ said Joshua, ‘throw away the foreign gods that are among you and yield your hearts to the Lord, the God of Israel.’” Joshua 24:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Joshua 23-24 & Psalm 44 & 1 Corinthians 11)

God was not going to bless the Israelites if they worshipped other gods. They knew it and in this verse Joshua is reinforcing it in the closing days of his life.

I must rid myself of counterfeit gods. What is a counterfeit god? Anything that is more important to me than God is.

Some of the counterfeit gods are good things that have risen to an all-important level. “I will do (whatever) as long as I can keep (whatever).”

The counterfeit god may be a hobby. In itself a good thing but when I have to do it at the expense of things God wants me to do then it has reached the counterfeit god level. In this kind of case I have to repeatedly ask myself, “Are you willing to give it up?” If I get “attached” then I am moving into godless waters.

It never ceases to be important to be closely connected to God. If I do that then I can settle the attachment issue at the get-go. Obviously I need to routinely check my level of attachment by praying about it.

“Lord, I want all counterfeit gods in my life exposed to me so that I can remove their hold on me. I want to rightly represent You in everything I do. My ultimate attachment is to You. Prick my conscience when my attachment to You is loose so that I can make corrections. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.