No surprise

“Whenever Israel went out to fight, the hand of the Lord was against them to defeat them, just as he had sworn to them. They were in great distress.” Judges 2:15

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Judges 1-3 & 1 Corinthians 12)

The Israelites got exactly what God promised them.

For some reason the Israelites had short memories when it came to God. They were clearly told to do certain things. They were clearly told not to do certain things. They were also informed of the consequences.

When they obeyed God He would go with them and bless them. When they disobeyed God He would go with them and make sure that they were defeated.

So in this verse we see only the consequence but knowing it we can accurately assume what the Israelites had done.

When I run ahead of God I am acting just like the Israelites in Judges 2. I am doing what I was told not to do and there will surely be consequences.

What could be more frightening than knowing that God is against what I’m doing? The short answer is, “Nothing!”

I do not want to function apart from God. I certainly want to change my course immediately if that has happened. I want Him guiding me. There can be no other arrangement.

“Father, I need You every second. Forgive me for setting out on anything without You with me. You know what is best for me. Help me to stay in steady trust with You. Prick my conscience when I am loose from You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Judges

Comments are closed.