Life is short

“You have made my days a mere handbreath; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Everyone is but a breath, even those who seem secure.” Psalm 39:5

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Judges 4-5 & Psalm 39,41 & 1 Corinthians 13)

I do not know how long I will live.

I do know that my time on earth is not determined by me.

I may not have tomorrow. I may not have this afternoon.

If I wrap my brain around the shortness of my life, I will be more insistent on making my time on earth count.

I have elderly friends in Florida who jokingly tell me that at their stage of life, “we don’t buy green bananas!”

I must not postpone resolving disagreements. I must not postpone thanking people for their kindnesses to me.

My life must be filled with God. I cannot waste time seeking to re-connect to Him. I don’t need two steps forward and then one backward.

“Lord, forgive me for acting as if I have tomorrow. I can never be certain that I do. Help me to rejoice in what You have given me now. Forgive me for disconnecting from You. Too much of that going on lately. I want to overflow with You wherever I am, not just in the “easy” places. Help me, Father, I am so needy!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.