God gets the credit

“The Lord said to Gideon, ‘You have too many men. I cannot deliver Midian into your hands, or Israel would boast against me, ‘My own strength has saved me.’” Judges 7:2

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Judges 6-7 & Psalm 52 & 1 Corinthians 14)

God wanted to be sure that the defeat of Midian was orchestrated by Him. How did He do it? He reduced the number of fighters considerably.

What does God have to do to get me to give Him

Do I realize that I am not in charge?

Can I ever believe that anything that happens is beyond Him?

A huge hypocrisy occurs after I pray about something and God, for His own reason, takes action. In my limited reality something has gotten better, by my standard of “better,” but am I quick to declare that He has blessed me or do I steal some of the credit? God is not mocked!

I should be raising praises from the time I wake up until the time I fall asleep. Today in my morning walk I experienced sun, blue skies, and birds among other things. These are the works of the Creator. I must give Him the glory. If I won’t praise Him for that sort of thing then it is not surprising that I neglect to praise Him for making someone feel better or finding something lost? I have to get that Praise Train moving!

“Lord, You have blessed me in so many ways. Forgive me for losing sight of Your grace to me. Why You would bless me is unfathomable to me. I am a sinner and so often detached in word and deed from You. Yet You love me and forgive me and welcome me back to You again and again. I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Judges

Comments are closed.