Prayer

“On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.” 2 Corinthians 1:10-11

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Judges 11-12 & Psalm 50 & 2 Corinthians 1)

Praying is essential.

In today’s chosen verse Paul gives credit to the Corinthians for praying for him. Paul eludes to the difficulties that he has come through thanks in part to their intercession for him.

I have no doubt that people are regularly praying for me. I regularly pray for people. I know that God hears prayers.

I pray that God’s will gets done and I know that it will. I cannot change what God is going to do. I can join with Him in a situation knowing that what He does will be ultimately the best thing.

I can intercede for others. I can “stand in the gap” for others. I think of the men who lowered the paralyzed man to Jesus. Jesus took note of THEIR faith not just the faith of the paralyzed man and healed him.

God knows what is going on. He looks out for those who love Him. In Judges 10 the Israelites realize their sinfulness and seek restoration to God. They tell God that He can do with them whatever He wants to do if He will rescue them. Then this verse follows: “And he could bear Israel’s misery no longer.” God knows and God cares. Hallelujah!

“Father, thank You for knowing about me and caring about me. I love You and want to please You in everything today. I thank You for the people who pray for me. I know that their intercession reaches You and impacts what happens in my life. So many mysteries in all this but ultimate assurance that a great God is in charge and worthy of my full trust. I praise You, Lord.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.