Samson lost it

“Then she called, ‘Samson, the Philistines are upon you!’ He awoke from his sleep and thought, ‘I’ll go out as before and shake myself free.’ But he did not know that the Lord had left him.” Judges 16:20

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Judges 13-16 & 2 Corinthians 2)

As the Samson story unfolds you just know that it will get to this point.

There were specifics for Samson to follow and as long as he was obedient he would be blessed with miraculous strength. The consequences of disobedience were also known to him.

The end of verse 20 is one of the saddest verses in the Bible because not only has God left Samson but Samson doesn’t even realize it.

I want to do what God wants me to do. I fully realize that when I am connected to Him I will have His presence wherever I am located. In that arrangement, everything works together for good.

I am also quite clear that apart from Him I can do nothing of Godly value. I’ll do stuff, and it might even seem good, but it will be “filthy rags” in God’s sight.

I want my life to be lived in His presence. I do not want to ever function on my own initiative. I must be where He wants me to be doing what He wants me to do. How dreadful to be separated from Him at any time!

The Samson story is a great example of what not to do. God gave him much yet his disobedience lessened his days of doing what God wanted him to do. I have been given much. Will I learn from Samson’s mistakes?

“Father, I love Your Word. Sometimes I learn what to do, while other times I learn what not to do. I want to please You in everything. Prick my conscience when I am missing what You want me to do so that I can change my ways. Your Way is the only way!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Judges

Comments are closed.