He knows best

“But I will not take my love from him, nor will I ever betray my faithfulness.” Psalm 89:33

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Judges 17-18 & Psalm 89 & 2 Corinthians 3)

I am unworthy.

If my performance influenced His performance I would be undone.

God knows me yet still makes promises like today’s chosen verse.

I do not understand God’s ways. I sometimes assume that I have done something so God responds to it by doing something. I’m not so sure about that now. God is in charge. I am the one in the response mode.

I think of Joseph and his line to his brothers about “you meant this for evil, but God meant it for good.” On face value things look good or bad but I will never be able to ascertain their ultimate worth.

In struggling times I am often drawn closest to God. I have nothing else to cling to. In better times the counterfeit gods rear their ugly heads.

God’s love for me is truly remarkable. Because I love Him I want to please Him in every way I can. I will so often fail in the attempt but God, as today’s verse says, “will not take his love from me.” My love for Him fluctuates but His for me never does. Hallelujah!

“Lord, I thank You that You love me despite knowing me. Forgive me for my sin. I want to be clean before You. Great is Your faithfulness to me!”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.