Godly sorrow

The Merrimack River sparkles on a sunny, cloudy, windy afternoon

The Merrimack River sparkles on a sunny, cloudy, windy afternoon

“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.” 2 Corinthians 7:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 1-2 & Psalm 66 & 2 Corinthians 7)

I was wrong. There, I’ve said it!

However, talk is cheap. How is “wrong” measured? Was it wrong because someone called me on it or was it wrong even if no one ever knew?

Today’s chosen verse mentions, “Godly sorrow.” All sin is sin against God. He set the standards for right and wrong.

Godly sorrow includes owning up to sin. “I did it! I shouldn’t have done it. It was my mistake. I am sorry it happened.”

Sometimes Godly sorrow needs to go further than this. There may be punishment to be experienced. There is also no assurance that my Godly sorrow will be met with “Oh, that’s okay. Don’t worry about it.” I may be met with anger and rejection. That must not change my Godly sorrow.

The beauty of Godly sorrow is that it is necessary if I am to begin to move along the road of restoration to Him. If I hold on to known sin I will harm my relationship to the God I love. That can’t go on!

“Lord, thank You for Your Word. Thank You for the truths in it. Help me to live them out. Forgive me for doing my own thing and neglecting You. I cannot live right apart from You. I beg You to prick my conscience whenever I am sinning in thought/word/deed. I want to rightly represent You in all that I do this day. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.