Praying for others

“He (Samuel) cried out to the Lord on Israel’s behalf, and the Lord answered him.” I Samuel 7:9

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 6-7 & Psalm 72 & 2 Corinthians 9)

In the chosen verse I find yet another example of intercessory prayer in action.

I can pray for others. In this case Samuel prays for Israel.

There is no one beyond the reach of God.

I want God’s will for myself and others. I do not know what God’s will is but I can align myself with Him and ask in His Name. In 1 Samuel, the prophet Samuel is asking that Israel will be protected from the advancing Philistines.

There had been instances where God had chosen to let the Israelites be defeated. God will prevail in the end.

If my life is lived in close relationship to Him then I can live in the consequences knowing that He will never leave me nor forsake me. He is with me in trouble. He is with me when there isn’t trouble.

The key point in the verse is that Samuel took on praying for Israel. Why? He knew that God was listening to him. If I am in right relationship to Him then I can be assured of the same thing. Hallelujah!

“Father, I thank You for Your Word. I thank You for the examples of Your awesome ways. You hear me when I pray. You know what is best for me. I commit my life to You now. Have Your way with me my Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.