Bad choice

“But when you saw that Nahash king of the Ammonites was moving against you, you said to me, ‘No, we want a king to rule over us’ – even though the Lord your God was your king.” 1 Samuel 12:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 11-12 & 1 Chronicles 1 & 2 Corinthians 11)

Where do I turn in times of trouble?

In the story connected to this verse, we learn that Israel chooses a king over the King of Kings.

God had sent the Israelites prophets and judges to carry out His Ways. The history of this going on was truly remarkable. The victories against overwhelming opponents had been numerous.

But this way of life involved complete obedience. The Israelites were sinful and punishment was sure to follow. In some convoluted thinking they thought things would be “better” with an earthly king. I suspect they hoped for more lifestyle leeway.

It all seemed good in their heads but God wasn’t pleased because in doing this they had rejected Him once again.

When I turn to counterfeit gods I am rejecting The God. What would cause me to do such a thing? I have lost sight of Who God is and what He has already done.

God is the Creator. He is my Savior. He has given me every good gift I have. This doesn’t mean that I don’t buy insurance. It does mean that my ultimate assurance is beyond my insurance. God is in control.

“Lord, forgive me for turning to other gods. My ultimate trust is in You. You are the layer above anything this world offers as a god. Those gods have feet of clay and are all terminal. You are forever. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.