Give up?

“In the Lord I take refuge. How then can you say to me; ‘Flee like a bird to your mountain. For look, the wicked bend their bows; they set their arrows against the strings to shoot from the shadows at the upright in heart. When the foundations are being destroyed, what can the righteous do?’” Psalm 11:1-3

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 18 & 1 Chronicles 6 & Psalm 11 & Matthew 3)

The writer of this psalm (David) is in trouble and his friends know it. Their advice to him is to run to a safer place. David’s sentiment is that God is with him where he is.

What do I do when things get troubling? Where do I turn for help?

The answers to those questions reveal where my trust is. If it is not in The God, it is in counterfeit gods.

David’s friends are well intentioned. They don’t want anything bad happening to their friend but their advice is to be rejected. Their solution was godless.

This world is cluttered with horrible events. Unimaginable evils abound nation-wide and world-wide. What’s a believer to do? I must give the Holy Spirit free rein in my life. From that base I will be on a foundation that will enlighten me as to the ways I should confront evil.

I must also never forget God’s size in relation to evil. He’s not overwhelmed in the least. With His Spirit in me, I must not be overwhelmed either.

“Lord, You are all-powerful. Forgive me for magnifying problems while at the same time under-estimating You. I should know better. Guide me by Your Holy Spirit this day.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.