God is my fortress

“But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.” Psalm 59:16

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 19 & 1 Chronicles 7 & Psalm 59 & Matthew 4)

God is with me!

David wrote this psalm. He was certainly familiar with danger especially from King Saul.

God is all-powerful. He has no limitations. My “enemies” are puny in His sight. How often do I magnify problems and minimize the Problem Solver.

God loves me. I am not a nuisance He reluctantly tolerates. He cares about me. He knows what I’m doing and He wants His best for me. How often I bring Him disappointment. How often I lose sight of His love for me.

I must live every minute in tight alignment to God. When I do that I will be alerted often to His great strength and to His great love. I will see and hear of those great qualities in my midst.

“Father, I am overwhelmed by Who You are and the wonders in Your creation. Forgive me for under-noticing You in my midst. Forgive me for being dazzled by other gods. Forgive me for ignoring the promises of Your Word. You have no limitations. Forgive me for limiting You in my life. I give You complete control.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.