Forgive

“For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” Matthew 6:14-15

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 22 & Psalm 17,35 & Matthew 6)

That’s stark!

God has forgiven us our heaven-separating sins. Now it’s our turn to do the same thing in our midst.

And if we don’t forgive we are summa magna hypocrites. Why? Look at the sins we’ve been forgiven of………….a lifetime of them.

These verses connect to the parable of the debtors. One of the debtors had a huge debt and the one to whom he was indebted chose to forget what was owed. What seemed like the beginning of a feel-good story turned sour when the formerly indebted man mercilessly insisted that a debt owed him be paid. Point? The original debtor forgot what had been done for him in the same way that I forget what God has forgiven me of when I don’t offer forgiveness to those in my debt.

A life filled with the Holy Spirit is keenly aware of the forgiving and not forgiving hypocrisy. That individual also feels the weight of unforgiven sins and the need to confess them and make restitution.

“Lord, forgive me of sins known and unknown. Help me to forgive as You have forgiven me. Fill me with You so that I will naturally do Your will in my midst. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.