Fruit

“Every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit.” Matthew 7:17

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Samuel 23 & Psalm 31, 54 & Matthew 7)

Call a tree what you will but ultimately it is the fruit of that tree which reveals what it really is.

So it is with us. I can claim to be a committed believer but you can determine the accuracy of my claim by how I behave.

How obvious it all is! I have never been able to fool God. Now everyone in my midst will not be fooled either. What they see/hear is what I am.

I want my life to rightly represent God. I don’t want anyone to conclude after watching me in action that I do not represent God.

I must represent God full-time. Situational representation is a mistake. I’m either in or out.

I need to take a good look at those who are giving me spiritual guidance. Their guidance suggestions for me must be backed up by Godly lives.

I am back to the familiar theme of this blog: My life must be completely aligned to God. I can never be living independent of Him.

“Lord, I want Your Ways to be my ways. Fill me with Your Words. Submerge me in Your Truths. I want to rightly represent You without convoluting it. I ask that Godly living be the natural outgrowth of a right relationship to You for me. I love You. Forgive me for misrepresenting You. I commit to You now.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.