Getting directions

Sunset along the Merrimack River

Sunset along the Merrimack River

“It was because of you, the Levites, did not bring it up the first time that the Lord our God broke out in anger against us. We did not inquire of him about how to do it in the prescribed way.” 1 Chronicles 15:13

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Chronicles 14-15 & Psalm 132 & Matthew 18)

The folly of living as I please!

If I am committed to God, I will diligently seek to know/do His Ways.

In the story surrounding this verse, the priests did not inquire of God about returning the Ark of the Covenant to where they were. The return was messed up as a result.

David calls the priest on what happened. David knows who to blame and what they had done wrong.

How does this story apply to me? I am a sinner. Without the overwhelming presence of the Holy Spirit I am going to sin. I must be tightly aligned to God.

When things go sour for me the cause is usually over my relationship with God getting loosened. I get distracted with counterfeit gods and start to worship them rather than Him. Mess ups are sure to follow.

The important thing for me is to quickly recognize what has happened, accept the blame, and reunite with God in a total fashion. There is no better feeling than to be in God’s will.

“Lord, I thank You for the clarity You bring. I know when I am loose from You. I also know the unfortunate consequences of this. I commit fully to You. Forgive me for any other arrangement that I have gotten into. I love You more than anything else. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under I Chronicles

Comments are closed.