Standing in for someone

“So he said he would destroy them – had not Moses, his chosen one, stood in the breach before him to keep his wrath from destroying them.” Psalm 106:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Chronicles 16 & Psalm 106 & Matthew 19)

Moses prevented God from destroying the Israelites.

This is another Scripture that encourages interceding for others.

God can do whatever He wants to do. But He loves His children. His love, in fact, is greater than His justice. That is why sometimes we don’t get what we deserve.

In every Godly family there are unbelievers if you look out on the family tree. It could be a cousin, uncle, etc…

I must not abandon them. I must not give up hope on them becoming believers.

My interceding should be persistent as the lady was in the persistent woman parable.

My interceding should reference Scripture such as today’s verse. Another great interceding verse is in Ezekiel where it refers to standing in the gap.

“Lord, I thank You that You love me. I thank You for Scripture that leaves the door open for those who are lost. I can impact their eternal future by interceding for them. Forgive me for ever giving up on them. You are a great God. All things are possible. Thank You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.