Getting left behind

Sunrise today along the Merrimack River in Amesbury

Sunrise today along the Merrimack River in Amesbury

“Jesus said to them, ‘Truly I tell you, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are entering the kingdom of the Lord ahead of you.’” Matthew 21:31

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Samuel 8-9 & 1 Chronicles 18-19 & Matthew 21)

How could the folks described in today’s verse be moving ahead?

Promotions aren’t based on what we are. Promotions are based on who God is.

We must recognize ourselves as needy before we care to look for help.

The issue with the religious elite of that day was that they saw themselves as “arrived.” They were well aware of the neediness of others.

I must NEVER forget that I am needy and always will be needy. My status didn’t change in that regard even after I became a believer.

Some of my recent difficulties have been over my elevating my awareness of others’ limitations. If I then reached out to them as a Godly helper it would be fine. However, in my case, it has been to criticize.

I can’t do anything to qualify myself for His pardon. It’s a gift for those who recognize their neediness.

It must be understood that being a tax collector or a prostitute didn’t qualify them for a relationship with God. I am certain that many in those lines of activity had no use for God. Those referred to in the chosen verse had seen themselves as people requiring a change and so they were drawn to Jesus.

In like manner, there surely were members of the religious elite who recognized their neediness and were also drawn to Jesus.

In our day I must continue to see everyone as potential converts. No one is outside of His reach. Their realization of neediness is the essential starting point.

“Lord, I need You. I won’t even put down the amount of time because I will always need You. Forgive me for frequently succumbing to independent living. My relationship to You is all about dependency on You. I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.