In Whom do I trust?

Moonrise over the Merrimack River on May 4th

Moonrise over the Merrimack River on May 4th

“Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.” Psalm 20:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Samuel 10 & 1 Chronicles 20 & Psalm 20 & Matthew 20)

Is my God God?

Does He have competition?

Many of the stories in the Old Testament emphatically reveal that God is a jealous God. He doesn’t want any competition.

When I seek strength and security away from God I am chasing counterfeit gods. They are terminal and every one of them will disappoint me sooner or later.

It is easy for me to leave God out of my day. I am underway and fully engaged when I invite Him along. “Bless me,” I ask. He could well reply, “You left me out of the planning part of this day, you’re on your own this time.”

My thinking is messed up when I assume He doesn’t need to be involved. Even little things are places in which I either rightly represent Him or I don’t. I can NEVER rely on my own judgment apart from Him. How long will it take for me to figure this out?

Seeking God’s Will is a never ending thing. My day must be set up to be flexible. I cannot exclude His possible direct interaction.

“Lord, prick my conscience when I am excluding You from decisions being made. I need You every second. I commit my life to You. Take me over. Direct my paths. Guide me, I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.