Scared?

Sunrise on May 10th along the Merrimack River in Amesbury

Sunrise on May 10th along the Merrimack River in Amesbury

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise – in God I trust and am not afraid.” Psalm 56:3-4

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Samuel 18 & Psalm 56 & Matthew 27)

We have a natural fear of the unknown but even more so of the known. Trips to the doctor have various degrees of uncertainty.

In these verses we read David’s take on dealing with fear…….trust God.

Easy to read but so often hard to live out.

We want to instinctively trust ourselves first. That is not the way it should be.

God is so patient with us. He loves us despite what we really are. We ignore Him.

God brings major trouble into our lives to prevent us from being attracted to the god of self-reliance.

If we trust Him normally it will be natural to trust Him when things get significantly unsettling.

If I am in right relationship with God I can trust Him in all circumstances. My level of trust is indicative of how close I am to God.

“Lord, I need You every second. Help me to trust You completely. Prick my conscience when I start to jeopardize our relationship. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.