Trusting God

Sunrise on the Merrimack River on May 10th

Sunrise on the Merrimack River on May 10th

“But as for me, I trust in you.” Psalm 55:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Samuel 19-20 & Psalm 55 & Matthew 28)

We live in a chaotic world.

So much is happening around us. It doesn’t take long to realize that we are not in control. But who is?

We attempt to concoct our own “controls” and hope that they will hold. But they won’t. They are all terminal and sooner or later will be useless.

I buy a new car and hope that my roadway troubles are over. Sooner or later…………

The Psalmist writes of all the turmoil and then concludes in the last verse he will trust God. He doesn’t care where others put their trust. He knows where his strength must come from and it is God.

That must be me, as well. I cannot be seduced by the counterfeit gods of my culture.

I must be upfront and unashamed of my reliance on God. He will never leave me or forsake me. He’s eternal.

As I continue to read Scripture I learn of how trustworthy God is. Not only is He trustworthy but He knows what’s best for me.

“Lord, in You do I trust. I commit my life to You right now. Cleanse me of everything that distorts my relationship to You. I love You.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.