On my own

Sunset on May 12th along the Merrimack River

Sunset on May 12th along the Merrimack River

“But when you hid your face, I was dismayed.” Psalm 30:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Samuel 24 & 1 Chronicles 21 & Psalm 30 & 1 Thessalonians 2)

You bet I was and am!

There is a whole different feel to life when things are not right with God. Maybe it’s conscience. Maybe it’s just the atmosphere change. Whatever it is, it has a bad feel to it.

The psalmist in this verse (David) reacts in “dismay.”

He immediately wants to make a change. To get things right. This is a good thing and worthy of imitation. Instead of letting things fester I need to actively seek correcting measures.

I cried out to God today, “What do You want me to do?” I am not sure if I’m on His path or one of my own choosing. I feel turbulence but is it just a test to check the depth of my spiritual roots as in the parable of the sower?

It is certainly true that my intensity for what God wants surfaces most often when things get tough. Maybe that is what is going on with the solution being to tighten my relationship to God full-time.

“Lord, thank You for bringing Your Word to where I live. I want a right relationship with You. I want to do what You want me doing. I am dismayed when my relationship with You gets loose. I cannot live without Your guidance. I acknowledge You in all my ways because I want You to direct my path.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.