Looking out for others

Sunrise May 14th on the Merrimack River

Sunrise May 14th on the Merrimack River

“May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else.” 1 Thessalonians 3:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Chronicles 22-24 & 1 Thessalonians 3)

What comes out of my mouth is the overflow of my heart. If I am speaking evil then my heart is evil etc…

Today’s verse is advocating a filling to overflowing of love. Why? Because if I reach the overflow level than those in my midst will catch the overflow.

Too often my love within me is so limited that I am forced to conjure up love for those in my midst. It comes across as convoluted and rightly so.

Think of the experience of Peter after Jesus was captured. He ended up in a place where he was recognized but didn’t want to be recognized. Instead of “overflow” he resorted to “underflow” to escape possible trouble. Peter had the physical characteristics of a follower but not the internal characteristics. There was no overflow from a Godly heart so he abandoned Jesus verbally.

I must be filled with God. I must get away from fabricating goodness. The goodness must be within me from loving God so that I naturally overflow with that love. How easy it would be if I could live that way!

Godly loving of others centers on caring for their best interests. A lot of caring involves words. They had better be Godly.

“Father, my good intentions are never enough to get Your Love across to others. I must be filled to overflowing with Your Holy Spirit. Nothing less will work. Forgive me for trying to show love apart from You. That love is always flawed. Enable me to overflow with You in my midst, I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under I Thessalonians

Comments are closed.