Good advice

Field of mustard in Newbury, Massachusetts

Field of mustard in Newbury, Massachusetts

“And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind for the Lord searches every heart and understands every desire and every thought. If you seek him, he will find you.” 1 Chronicles 28:9

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Kings 1 & 1 Chronicles 28 & Psalm 91 & 1 Thessalonians 5)

David is nearing the end of his life and gives his son Solomon some good advice: God knows all about you so behave and God is available so don’t be hesitant about connecting to Him.

We could all use this sort of advice.

I must not miss that God is tuned in to me. That He knows all about me is a frightening thought. He knows about every sin. Everything I say or do is done in His presence whether I realize it or not.

My connection to Him must be unceasing. This one area, among many, is one that I am aware of on a regular basis. The gaps between my awareness of Him are often long periods. I go into something God-driven but during the time on task will slide away from Him. At some juncture (usually at the end of something) I will realize that I am flying on my own strength and have slipped off His route. I need, instead, a steady connection to Him throughout.

He will hear my prayer. The opportunity to connect to Someone capable of fixing any situation should drive me to my prayer knees often. God is already on the scene, I just have to pray to join Him.

“Lord, I thank You for David’s good advice…….for all of us. You do know my needs and You do make it possible to easily contact You. Forgive me for ever thinking I can function apart from You and be Godly. Won’t happen! I commit my ways to You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under I Chronicles

Comments are closed.