Why is this happening to me?

"The heavens declare....."

“The heavens declare…..”

“Because they have forsaken the Lord their God, who brought their ancestors out of Egypt, and have embraced other gods, worshipping and serving them – that is why the Lord brought all this disaster on them.” 1 Kings 9:9

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Kings 9 & 2 Chronicles 8 & Psalm 136 & Romans 5)

Solomon gets a lesson on why things happen.

Things were different in Old Testament times. A select group of people (Israelites) were God’s people. Non-Israelites were on the outside looking in.

God loved His people but He was not above punishing them for their misdeeds. But His love was stronger than His justice and if they would turn from their wicked ways He would “heal their lands,” and restore them to Himself.

Now God’s people are from every group and country. No country gets His special blessing and/or judgment. Those who love Him are His people no matter where they live.

Disasters are now likely to be individual in nature. There also is the possibility that a disaster strikes a country or a region and there are believers and non-believers in those places. It rains on the just and the unjust.

Individually, I believe that I can bring God’s wrath on myself but how I live. If I claim to be controlled by Him and do not act accordingly, I believe that God has His ways of bringing my waywardness to my attention. I also think that God tests those He loves to help the believer reach out for Him instead of counterfeit gods.

God has done great things for me. He saved me from the after-life that my sins warranted by having Jesus cover the consequences of my sins in His death. What assurance that realization is!

“Lord, I love You. Forgive me for straying from You. Prick my conscience when I am wrong so that I can make adjustments in a Godly way. You are so patient with me. Fill my life with Your Holy Spirit, I beg.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under I Kings

Comments are closed.