God’s slave

Sunrise on the Merrimac River on May 24th

Sunrise on the Merrimac River on May 24th

“But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life.” Romans 6:22

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Kings 10-11 & 2 Chronicles 9 & Romans 6)

When I believe that Jesus died for my sins I am freed from the after-life consequences of my sin.

My sense no longer is that I have to be good enough to earn an after-life with God. My conviction instead is that God took care of my sinful past, present, and future. How? By sending Jesus to die for my sins and everyone else’s for that matter. I simply have to recognize my need (sinner) and accept what His death did to those sins.

I love God for what He did for me. Therefore, I want to do whatever He wants me to do in thanks to Him. Today’s verse uses “slave” and it is an apt description. I wait and react to what He wants me doing. I try, in His strength, to be Godly in everything I do.

When I sin I am troubled because each sin is a sin against the God I love. I can’t minimize sin. It is wrong. It is a separator from the God I love. I must confess it to Him and seek to smooth the waters in the place where the sin was committed.

There is great peace in knowing that God is with me. My eternal life with Him started the moment I believed in Him. Hallelujah!

“Lord, there is no one like You. I trust You. Fill me with You. Prick my conscience when I am off Your course. I want Your path to be the one I’m on. Thank You that You love me.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.