Pride

Calm morning today (May 30th) along the Merrimack River

Calm morning today (May 30th) along the Merrimack River

“Where there is strife, there is pride, but wisdom is found in those who take advice.” Proverbs 13:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Proverbs 13-15 & Romans 11)

Nothing good is going to come from pride.

And to add to that thought I find that directly from pride will come strife.

As I look at the difficulties I get into, the core of them is often my pride. I react quickly and unkindly to things. I’m sure I know more than the person on the other end of the interaction. And strife is sure to follow!

I am instructed in 1 Peter 3:17: “In the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.” No room for pride in any of that. My pride will lead to my being inconsiderate and disrespectful.

Have I reached the point in life where I don’t need to get and consume advice? I hope not. So much of my life is being in new situations and trying new things. In my current part-time job (driving school instructor) things are constantly changing not only with the students I deal with but also the road conditions we drive through. There is much for me to learn, believe me.

“Lord, I thank You for the wisdom of Solomon. So much of it has never changed in being practical. Some of it is so obvious but so easily neglected. I can’t be consumed in self-confidence. I am weak. I need instruction. I, in fact, crave Godly instruction. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.