Have a Godly attitude

Deer crossing the Merrimack River today

Deer crossing the Merrimack River today

“May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had.” Romans 15:5

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Proverbs 25-27 & Romans 15)

Now there’s a high standard for you!

Do it the way Jesus did it. Well at least we know what the target is.

The power that I need to have the right attitude toward others is a gift of God. I don’t conjure it up. I don’t vow to do better. It is dependent on my relationship to Him.

Those of us is the working world are not strangers to frustration. Things just don’t always go the way we want them to go. Sometimes we’re doing right and things go corporately wrong and we’re caught in the larger umbrella.

But even in the worst of it, I need to be Christ-like.

I need to be the one in the midst of criticism trying to smooth things out not be defensive. Taking criticism is not natural but in His strength I can take it and weather it. Sometimes the criticism is warranted so I can be glad to get it.

More reasons to be tightly aligned to God. The real world is seldom easy. My reactions to life’s uncertainties expose my level of allegiance to God. Godless reactions must end.

“Lord Jesus, forgive me for misrepresenting You in my midst. You are with me wherever I am. I must live that truth and stop reacting godlessly to the unexpected and inconvenient. I love You. Empower me to live that way I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.