Get to work!

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ecclesiastes 1-3 & Psalm 45 & Ephesians 2)

Good works are the fruit not the root of the believer.

I become a believer and then I want to do good works. Those good works won’t make me a believer.

My goal in life must be to please God. “What do You want me to do, Father?” What do You want me to stop doing, Father?”

I don’t believe that most of what God wants me to do will start today and never change thereafter. I think that my Godly responsibilities will be in flux. When I get attached to doing something it is often because it is bringing me pleasure and not God. Then the real struggle comes when it is time for me to move away from the godless attraction.

What could be a better situation than to be doing what God wants me to do? There would be no, “if only they would,” issues. How blessed I would be doing His Will!

My relationship with God must be ongoing. I dare not lose touch with the director of a Godly lifestyle. He knows best. I am a sinner more than likely to take on things that He is not in.

I took a part-time job in January. I wasn’t looking for a job. But the job has given me opportunities to demonstrate Godliness in places I never could have otherwise. The job has also enabled us to absorb two large truck expenses that would have been overwhelming without the job. HOWEVER, if God wants me to stop doing the job I must be willing to stop doing it. There can’t be any, “I’ll do anything, Lord, but give up this new job.”

“Lord, You know me perfectly. I want to be doing exactly what You think I’m capable of doing….nothing else. I want the peace that comes from being completely in Your Will. Forgive me for finding pleasure apart from You. You are my joy. Thank You for loving me.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.