Make Yourself at home

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.” Ephesians 3:16-17

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ecclesiastes 4-6 & Psalm 18 & Ephesians 3)

Is God at home with me?

Am I constantly making Him “uncomfortable?”

I was hit hard by this thought as I read the selected verses this morning. It is easy for me to get comfortable with the thought that God is “looking down from heaven” at me. That thought is mistaken. God is in me. He made that entrance when I gave my life to Him. When I became a believer.

He is elsewhere but He is also within me. He is in my midst.

I sit in a room having a conversation with someone in my midst. Do I realize that God is in that same room?? Do I realize that He hears me. That He knows what I’m thinking as I hear the other’s words? Do I make Him “uncomfortable?” I’ll tell you this, it make me uncomfortable thinking about it! Why? Because so often I think/speak/behave as if there is no one around. It is shameful to say the least.

God loves me. I know that but am I functioning in a way that His love can dwell richly? I know that He has plans for me. I know that He wants to lead me into “green pastures.” But am I willing to be the man in the initial details that He will be comfortable with so that other things can evolve?

“Lord, have Your Way with me, my Father. Cleanse me. Open my eyes/ears to Your intimacy to me. I must not see/hear You elsewhere but instead in my midst. You are the God in my midst………thank You.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.