Forgive as He forgave

Butterfly in a rhodi bush in North Bridgton

Butterfly in a rhodi bush in North Bridgton

“Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” Ephesians 4:32

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ecclesiastes 7-9 & Ephesians 4)

It is the same old theme: Forgive as I have been forgiven.

Remember the parable about the man who was forgiven a huge debt. The forgiven guy then went on from there to refuse to forgive someone who was indebted to him. When word got back to the original forgiver, he was outraged.

God has forgiven me. How? He sent His Son Jesus to earth to be punished for my sins. That was a huge sacrifice.

With that sacrifice in mind, I must forgive those in my midst in the same fashion.

God’s example also applies to my being kind and compassionate to others. Again the frame of reference is in the behavior of Jesus. He was the model of kindness and compassion.

I am unable to be Godly on my own. I have to be empowered by Him or else I will fail.

As usual I must be closely aligned to Him. I cannot consciously separate from Him for any time.

One of my concerns is unconsciously separating from Him. Hours go by and I wonder where I left God! So much of my life is where it shouldn’t be.

I have been thinking lately about trying to make God comfortable with me. How would that ever be possible? I am an ongoing sinner. There appears to be no end to it. How could God ever be comfortable with someone like me?

“Lord, I am very weak. I stray from You and ignore You. It must not be. Forgive me, I beg. Empower me to live out Ephesians 4:32. It is a great guide and one that I need to follow in You. Help me, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.