How much?

“Each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself.” Ephesians 5:33

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ecclesiastes 10-12 & Psalm 74 & Ephesians 5)

No need for any commentaries on this one!

How much do I love myself? That’s the standard for loving my wife.

How easy it is to get complacent in a relationship. It has been going along for a long time. Things get familiar. Territory is staked out. But then some waves come along. And what happens? Complacency is inadequate to weather it.

My relationship with my wife must be similar to my relationship to God. It has to be ongoing. There’s no time to roost in the past. What have I done lately?

It must be conversational. “What do you think about…..?” No assumptions can be made. Hurts must be dealt with.

To what lengths will I go to please my wife? What makes her happy? It is just like getting to know God. What does He want me to do. I must find out.

I must be willing to be corrected by my wife. Too often I am convinced that I am right. Can I take advice? Not well!

“Lord, this one hits home. I can do so much better. If I treated my wife the way I treat God it would certainly make things better. I must elevate her in my thinking. There are so many little things that a Godly husband could do. Am I willing to trust You? Why would I want anything else? You are my God. Prick my conscience when I am messing it up with my wife so that I can make the needed changes. Help me, Father, I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.