Whatever, Lord!

“For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” Philippians 1:21

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Songs of Solomon 5-8 & Philippians 1)

Yesterday Paul was in jail but very much God’s ambassador there.

Today Paul is at the life-or-death level of thinking. No matter which it is he’s ready for it.

As I get older I am more aware of my developing limitations. Can’t jog. Can’t stay up all night. Etc, etc.. And the further along I get the more those limitations will appear. As a believer I am sure of my life-after destination. I’ll be in heaven. I will be freed from this earth’s developing limitations. It is starting to sound better and better.

On the other hand, I get much pleasure in what I see and with the folks in my midst. Parting has its sorrowful side. I don’t want to be separated from so many wonderful God-given things.

So there’s a pull to leave the earth and a pull to stay. Paul had just the right approach: Whatever happens I’m content with it.

My days are numbered by God. I must treat each one as a gift from Him. I am accountable for what I do with my time.

When God wants me to go I will gladly go. If He wants me to stay I will make the most of the time I have. There’s no downside to that approach, is there?

“Lord, I thank You for Your Gifts to me. I treasure them for what they are; undeserved favor. Help me to enjoy You as I should. Forgive me for assuming tomorrow will come. Today is the day I must serve You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Philippians

Comments are closed.