What’s your trust in?

Sparkling afternoon along the Merrimack River

Sparkling afternoon along the Merrimack River

“Because you relied on the king of Aram and not on the Lord your God, the army of the king of Aram has escaped your hand.” 2 Chronicles 16:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Kings 16 & 2 Chronicles 15-16 & Colossians 1)

Asa has an opportunity to trust God and messes it up.

Fearing an enemy, Asa aligns himself with a neighboring king. The answer from God’s prophet is that Asa has now missed the opportunity to not only defeat an enemy but also to be successful against a neighboring king (of Aram).

How often do I choose to go my own way? “Way too often,” is the right answer.

Unique in Asa’s situation is that he learns the consequences of his godless actions.

How often do I learn such things? Not often but I have to know that because of my godlessness things turn out differently than they could have.

Sometimes there is momentary satisfaction from a godless venture and I can often think then that I had it right. I didn’t need to consult with God. I am older. I am experienced. I am capable. All folly. All wrong reasons if they lead to godlessness.

I need to be in God’s will full-time. I CANNOT opt to go it alone no matter what the opportunity is. Anything done without God in the mix is a spiritual disaster waiting to happen. Godly opportunities are going to be squandered. I am going to inflict harm on those in my midst by my godlessness. Because of my insistence on going ahead without being led by Him.

Why has it taken me so long to get this straight? Why do I persist in godless endeavors? How can God stand me? Only a God of love.

“Father, I continue to run ahead of You. I continue to go down paths of my own choosing. How can I neglect You so? Forgive me for wasting time apart from You. Forgive me for thinking any way of mine is worthy. It isn’t and never will be. I want to FOLLOW You. Forgive me for any other arrangement that has happened. I need You every second. I commit to You. You are my God.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.