Before you do anything…..

“First seek the counsel of the Lord.” 1 Kings 22:5

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Kings 22 & 2 Chronicles 18-19 & Colossians 4)

Let’s not get the cart before the horse!

Jehoshaphat gives Ahab some sound advice. Ahab is all set to take some significant action and wants Jehoshaphat to join him. Jehoshaphat is willing but wants them to seek God before they do anything.

How easy it is to avoid seeking God’s counsel before doing something.

The usual tact is to set out on something and then ask God to bless me. That approach is backwards.

My relationship with God must be up-to-date and ongoing ahead. If I walk closely with Him I will know His will better. I will know what He likes and what He dislikes.

What better arrangement for me than to know that I’m in His will? None, for sure.

Sometimes God’s counsel will be voiced to me by others. He does speak through other people. Am I willing to listen to others? I had better be.

In the Ahab story a prophet comes and tells Ahab that his invasion will be a failure. Ahab refuses to listen to him and later suffers fatal consequences. The same can be true for me. When I opt to disobey God I had better be ready for dire consequences.

“Lord, I need You all the time. You are my God. There is no other. I long to know Your Will. I long to be on the path that You want me on. I want to be doing what You want me to be doing. Help me, Father. I commit to You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under I Kings

Comments are closed.