Eyes on Him

North Bridgton lily after a rainy night

North Bridgton lily after a rainy night

“’Our God, will you not judge them? For we have no power to face this vast army that is attacking us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.’” 2 Chronicles 20:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Kings 6-7 & 2 Chronicles 20 & 1 Timothy 3)

Jehoshaphat prays for his people and what a prayer it is!

How appropriate for me as well.

The enemy is in my midst. I rightly recognize that my might is no match for this enemy.

I come to the right conclusion: I am incapable of withstanding what is upon me. It is beyond me. It is going to do me in.

What does Jehoshaphat say, with all this in mind? “Our eyes are on you.”

What a lesson for me…….and maybe you as well. I must turn to God. God knows what’s best and no enemy overwhelms Him.

What wouldn’t I turn to Him? Good question. Sometimes I decide that I can handle things on my own. Saves time. Removes the middle man…………but is godless. Best of luck with the results of that thinking!

Sometimes I think that the problem requires more than God can provide. This one is too big for God. I need to turn to other forms of help. Let’s call that “help” what it is: counterfeit gods. Again, good luck with that approach!

I need to be tightly aligned to God. There is no other way. I must never go it without Him. When I try that routine it always ends badly. Generally I belatedly realize that something could have gone better. I may never know how much better. I write something but the writing is not as clear/thorough/accurate/interesting as it would have been with God directing the activity.

“Lord, thank You for Jehoshaphat’s inspired words. My eyes need to be on You in everything. There must not be any “too big” or “too small” in my thinking. You are center around which all must revolve. I love You, Father. I know Your capabilities. Forgive me for ever thinking less of You. You are the best!”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.